South Korea Joins APEC Cross-Border Privacy Rules System

In June, South Korea became the latest country to officially join the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation’s (APEC) Cross-Border Privacy Rules (CBPR) system. The country joins the United States, Canada, Japan and Mexico. Twenty companies have been certified under CBPR. The program was developed by the 21 APEC member economies as a way to strengthen the general level of privacy protections while facilitating flows of data to fuel trade and economic growth across the APEC region. In the June announcement, South Korea’s Ministry of the Interior and the Korea Communications Commission cited that it expects the participation will improve the overall level of protection for its’ citizens’ personal information and bolster international confidence in Korean companies’ privacy and security practices.

Read more

Posted Under: International, South Korea

Post By Nix (1,198 Posts)